I’m a Believer

Last night, I finally became a member of Tim’s church.  It is one of the best decisions I have made.

Being raised Catholic, I had a certain set of beliefs and a heck of a lot of ritual ingrained into my being.  Over the years, for a variety of reasons, I still believed, but drifted from my Catholic roots.  I am so thankful for Tim, and his family, to bringing me back to a strong Christian faith.

My intentions at the start were not the purest.  I agreed to join the church so that if we have a family, we would be in one church.  I liked the idea of attending church with my in laws and any future little ones doing the same.  In the beginning, I was joining the church for superficial reasons.

But now, I’m a believer.

I believed before, but my knowledge of my salvation through God’s Word and Him giving his only son for the redemption of our sins has deepened and strengthened any superficial faith I had had before.

I am so thankful for what I have now.  At first, I grumbled about my 15 week Bible class, thinking- do I really need this?  But, honestly, I did.  I learned so much about Scripture, the teachings of the Lutheran church, and mostly myself.  I struggled through letting go of the traditions and rituals that I was taught and raised with and believed.  Could I really let that go?  What is the most important?  Am I doing the right thing?  I found my answers by listening to the Word, and following my heart.

I have grown so much in the past few months in my faith.  I am looking forward to being a steward of the church, and strengthening and deepening my faith and understanding.  I’m glad I didn’t make the decision easily, and I am glad that I have grown in my faith and beliefs, and mostly, I am proud to call myself a member of the church.

4 Comments

Filed under Bible Thumpin'

4 responses to “I’m a Believer

  1. Jen

    Congrats, Mel! That’s a big step to take and one that I am so proud of you for making.

    You should check out my hs friend’s, Kristi’s blog. She has lots of good stuff that I think you may enjoy. It’s http://krististephens.com

  2. Brooke

    That’s awesome Mel! I’m so happy that you’re happy!

  3. Just found your blog today from Facebook. Just wanted to say that this post made me get a little teary. I am so happy for you! I hope you continue to grow in your faith. It’s a journey that never ends!

    • Aw, thanks Ally. I appreciate your comment. (And I suddenly remembered when you did my hair for the Christmas concert at Carroll into a “Pentecostal Poof” 🙂 ) Hope motherhood is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

