The Greatest Man I Ever Knew

Two years ago today, my world (and the world of MANY others) changed forever.

My best friend was killed in action while serving the United States Marine Corps.

On Monday, April 14, 2008, Lance Corporal Dean D. Opicka entered eternity with his heavenly father while serving his country in Iraq.   Dean and Cpl Richard Nelson were killed when their hummer drove over a roadside explosive.  They were members of the Fox Co based out of Milwaukee.

Dean was many things to many people.

To me he was my confident, friend, roommate, coworker, travel companion, entertainer, cheerleader, listener, motivator.

To me, he was the person who pushed me to be my best.  Who made me question the status quo.  Who gave me the strength to stand up for myself.  Who gave me the courage to find out who I was and to be me.

Not a day goes by when I do not think of him.  He is such a part of who I am.  Because of how much time we spent together, and the experiences we shared , he is tied into every thread of my being, embedded into every memory.

I miss him every day.  I miss him when I hear a song, tell a story, see our friends faces.  I sometimes still think or feel like he is coming back.  Then reality hits.  There is so much that I want to tell him.  Things that were left unsaid.

I miss him.

Dean' Birthday AKA The NIght the USDC (United States Dean Corps) was founded

At MCRD for Dean's Boot Camp Graduation

Us. at the Chancery. with beer.

There is so much more to say.

But not the words to say it.

We miss you, Dean.  Each and every day.

******

This video was put together by his students at WCA.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Greatest Man I Ever Knew

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Greatest Man I Ever Knew « The Reed Feed -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

