Dessert: American Flag Jell-O Poke Cake

My whole life, I have always wanted to make a version of the American Flag Cake.  You know the one- with blueberries as the field of blue and strawberries as the stripes with Cool Whip as frosting?  Yeah, that one.

Today, offered the first opportunity for me to make such a cake.  We were invited to a BBQ at Uncle Keith’s and Aunt Roxanne’s where Tim family was also celebrating his birthday.  I said I would bring the cake.

After researching many ideas, I settled on the American Flag cake, but decided I didn’t want to make it the same old way.

So after referencing my favorite cookbook (aka- GOOGLE), I found a recipe for a Jell-O poke cake.

And this is what I did:

Dessert: American Flag Jell-O Poke Cake

Prepare one box of yellow cake mix as directed in a 13×9 inch pan.

Let cake cool for 15 minutes.

Poke holes all over cake using a fork.

Dissolve a package of instant Jell-O (I used strawberry) in 1 cup of boiling water.

Slowly pour mixture over cake, allowing it to soak in.  Cover and refrigerate.

To Decorate:

I mixed 8oz of Cool Whip with a package of cheesecake instant pudding (Trying to liven up the plain Cool Whip frosting).  This was a perfect frosting!

I then made the cake design with the blueberries and strawberries (which were amazingly perfect!  so delish!!)

We served it with chocolate and vanilla ice cream and it was a hit!

The Jell-O in the cake added a nice fruity flavor to the sweet cake, and the fruit/ Cool Whip topping was perfect!  I had mine with chocolate ice cream, and it was perfect!  Everyone raved about it!  So, I will definitely be adding this cake (and variations of such) to the repertoire!

1 Comment

Filed under Adventures in the Kitchen

One response to “Dessert: American Flag Jell-O Poke Cake

  1. Jen

    I love flag cakes!!

Leave a Reply

